Gluten-Free Simplicity

Useful Info, Tasty Anecdotes and Simple Recipes for Attaining Gluten-Free Simplicity

What I Can’t Have (probably) Can No Longer Hurt Me

Posted by nepeht on October 12, 2008

4. Try to Convert my “Can’ts” into “Cans”.

   As I was trying to get used to the idea that I had to go gluten-free, I found life a little less stressful as I started to simplify my favorite foods by converting the favorites that I could not have into the new favorates that I could have.

   So if instead of grieving too long on that turkey sandwich that I could not have anymore, I would start to dream of ways to make a chicken taco (on corn tortilla) better, I was little happier and a little less stressed.

  This is NOT to suggest that one should avoid grieving.  These foods that I could no longer eat and enjoy were like old friends in a way.  It really sucked that I could no longer eat them with a clear conscience.  This is simply to suggest that there might be a light at the end of the dark tunnel for someone once they are able to allow new, healthier “favorites” to replace the old ones to which they are now allergic.

What I Cannot Have (My old Favorites).  

    And NOW What I Can Have (My new Favorites):

  • I cannot have Chicken Noodle Soup
    • I CAN have Chicken and Rice Soup. *
    • I CAN have Chicken Corn Soup. *

  You can probably findout about gluten-free brands and products using resources such as the following website: http://www.glutenfreeinfo.com/Diet/glutenfreeinfo.htm

  Ok, so go ahead and make your own list now.

* Be sure to choose a gluten-free brand of these soups or make your own and use Corn Starch as a thickener.

Leave a Reply

 
