Gluten-Free Simplicity

Useful Info, Tasty Anecdotes and Simple Recipes for Attaining Gluten-Free Simplicity

Pain and Gluten Relapse

Posted by nepeht on October 23, 2008

 Gluten Relapse can be painful indeed.

  By “pain”, I speak of a pain with three distinct but probably related dimensions — Physical,  Emotional and Social:

Physical Pain: Pain may be sharp or dull. It may come and go, or it may be constant. You may feel pain in one area of your body, such as your back, abdomen or chest or you may feel pain all over, such as when your muscles ache from the flu.   http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/pain.html.

   and Emotional Pain: The feeling that I have failed in my attempt to stay Gluten-Free.  This feeling can be pretty awful when one considers that one is well aware of the damage being done during a relapse.  It is common during such episodes for one to question whether or not and/or just how one loves ones self.

  finally, Social Pain: What do others think of a person who is known to be allergic to gluten, yet she/he purposely ingests it?  What would you think?  Would it effect the way you see a person.  Might this lead to more isolation, more depression and more disease?

  So why am I writing this?

    I guess my prayer is that if you are a person who needs to be gluten-free and you have experienced relapse, then you experienced one or all three of the above sensations, you can know that you are not alone.  Hopefully, this will contribute to a sense of support for you as you go through this.

One Response to “Pain and Gluten Relapse”

  1. I have to be gluten-free and I have gone through many relapses. It’s unfortunate, but I did go through depression and physical pain. I beleive in medicine through magnets, so I used that to make my pain subside. For the depression, however, I started excising more and that helped.

Leave a Reply

 
