Gluten-Free Simplicity

Useful Info, Tasty Anecdotes and Simple Recipes for Attaining Gluten-Free Simplicity

Crohn’s Disease and Celiac Disease: A Dynamic Duo

Posted by nepeht on October 28, 2008

  I have had Crohn’s for at least 25 years and Celiac Disease for at least 10.  What a combination!  Researchers have suggested that persons with Crohn’s Disease should also be Gluten-Free.

  In 2005, an Italian research team concluded:

“there is a high prevalence of celiac disease in those with Crohns disease, and that all patients who are diagnosed with Crohns disease should begin a gluten-free diet at the time of diagnosis.”  http://www.celiac.com/articles/915/1/Celiac-Disease-Prevalence-High-in-Patients-with-Crohns-Disease/Page1.html.

  If I was so lucky, for those years prior to being diagnosed with Celiac Disease (nearly 15 years), I might have been at least attempting a Gluten-Free Diet for my Crohn’s.  Unfortunately though, I was not aware of this until recently.

  This is NOT about blame or guilt.  No one can be blamed.  The research seems to have not been that conclusive on such issues until recently. 

  The research money has probably not been there either at least until recently. 

  Wonderfully enough, new advances in accessing research funds for Crohn’s research are still (like now) being announced.  This is NOT to complain… just to make the point that there are tons of diseases on Earth today, and Crohn’s Research Funding, though growing in recent decades, is not necessarily a top priority.  http://www.ccfa.org/research/?LMI=6.  http://www.ccfa.org/?gclid=CPW0uODIypYCFQZlswodCHuvyg.

  Virtual lectures are even now available for Crohn’s.  Just follow this link: http://www.rmei.com/CCFAVL2008/.

  New understanding and therapies are being developed with Crohn’s-targeted research funding http://news.bio-medicine.org/medicine-news-3/UVa-Health-System-wins-renewal-of–246-2-million-grant-for-Crohns-disease-research-8079-1/

  This is Great!!!

   And, Celiac Disease is also a subject for some funded research: http://celiaccenter.ucsd.edu/.

  OK… so now back to Celiac Disease… and Celiac and Crohn’s Disease….

  Why am I writing this? 

  Well, I have some feelings about either Disease when I read or hear their names.  And when I hear or read both names at one time, I guess I get double the feelings. 

  And that’s  OK with me.

4 Responses to “Crohn’s Disease and Celiac Disease: A Dynamic Duo”

  1. […] Help One More Readily Attain Gluten-Free SimplicityHow to Learn About the Basics of Celiac DiseaseCrohn’s Disease and Celiac Disease: A Dynamic DuoGluten-Free Chex Products and RecipesGluten Free Cravings.com Gluten-Free Product […]

  2. sarah said

    I have been on a gluten free diet for a year. My symptoms seemed to start to diminish but are now reappearing. I am supposed to go for testing for crohn’s but have been putting it off as I was hoping it was just celiac. I have all the symptoms of both and am wondering if I am crazy putting this off? How often are people diagnosed with both? Could the gluten free-diet make my symptoms disappear for awhile only to return with a vengence?

    • nepeht said

      I have been diagnosed with both diseases…. unfortunately… Crohn’s (30 years ago) and Celiac (10 years ago). Knowing what I know now, I would want to be able to rule out both diseases asap…. And also it would have helped me to have my Derm-related problems diagnosed also…. back then…

  3. crohnssolutions said

    I am a Crohns patient and a pharmacist. It took me a while to realize that conventional therapy was not enough. I researched tons of articles and studies and combined all that into my own treatment protocol. Gluten free diet was just a part of my holistic approach to improvement. It’s now so simple to do a blood test for gluten sensitivity( at any doctor’s office ). It may make a difference.

Leave a Reply

 
