Gluten-Free Simplicity

Useful Info, Tasty Anecdotes and Simple Recipes for Attaining Gluten-Free Simplicity

Learning A Few New Words Might Help One Attain Gluten-Free Simplicity

Posted by nepeht on November 9, 2008

17. Taking A Little Time To Learn A Few New Words Might Help One Attain Gluten-Free Simplicity.

  If you are like me sometimes, then sometimes, when you hear a new word or a term that you never really understood, you are frustrated and you either:

  • skip over it and move on as you subconsciously add yet another brick to the resistance you have toward learning it, or
  • you look it up and perhaps even start a discussion about it so that you can learn what you need to know about it.

  I have done both of these things… sometimes to a fault.

  What I have learned though is that there are some things that I really should develop some knowledge of because they can have a direct impact on my quality of life.

  On this blog, one might frequently encounter words like “genetics”, “pathology” or “co-morbidity”.  Whenever I use these words, I try to put them into a context to where most anyone should be able to get an idea of their meaning as they read, regardless of their related familiarity or expertise.

  I have also included a dictionary on the scroll-bar as well as links (i.e., http://www.thefreedictionary.com/) to such on line dictionaries as they are possibly needed in the blog texts.  All you do is click on the link, type in the term and explore it until you get a grasp.

  My grandfather, whom I barely knew was a beloved long-time High school English teacher in a mid-sized historic Eastern U.S. city from about 1920 to 1960.  When I lived there, many people would recall him to me and among other frequent comments, they would praise his command of the English language and vocabulary.  I am also told that he used to carry a dictionary around with him on a regular basis.  And that is was not unusual to catch him simply reading that book, one entry at a time.

  So, I am not proposing that you become obsessed with the English language.  And I am certainly not meaning to talk down to anyone, as I myself have herein admitted to my own related challenges.  I am merely suggesting that a better command of the complex terminology that is related to basic understanding “Celiac Disease” and “Gluten-Free” foods, and other related concepts could help to make life simpler.

  Just try it.

Leave a Reply

 
