Gluten-Free Simplicity

Useful Info, Tasty Anecdotes and Simple Recipes for Attaining Gluten-Free Simplicity

Some Grains Contain Gluten and Some Do Not: Whole Grains Council

Posted by nepeht on November 10, 2008

  Some whole grains contain gluten and some do not. 

  According to the Whole Grains Council Website, whole “Grains with Gluten” include:

  • Wheat (including varieties like spelt, kamut, farro and durum; and products like bulgur and semolina)
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Triticale
  • Oats** see below

  Some “Gluten-Free Grains” are:

  • Amaranth
  • Buckwheat
  • Corn
  • Millet
  • Montina (Indian Rice Grass)
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Sorghum
  • Teff
  • Wild Rice

  **Oats are inherently gluten-free, but are frequently contaminated with wheat during growing or processing. Three companies (Bob’s Red Mill, Cream Hill Estates and Gluten Free Oats) currently offer pure, uncontaminated oats. Ask your physician if these oats are acceptable for you. Visit Gluten.net for a discussion on oats in the gluten-free diet.

  Information on whole grains as they relate to gluten contents and celiac disease is also available at this site: http://www.wholegrainscouncil.org/whole-grains-101/gluten-free-whole-grains.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: