Gluten-Free Simplicity

Useful Info, Tasty Anecdotes and Simple Recipes for Attaining Gluten-Free Simplicity

Posts Tagged ‘Whole Grains’

Some Grains Contain Gluten and Some Do Not: Whole Grains Council

Posted by nepeht on November 10, 2008

  Some whole grains contain gluten and some do not. 

  According to the Whole Grains Council Website, whole “Grains with Gluten” include:

  • Wheat (including varieties like spelt, kamut, farro and durum; and products like bulgur and semolina)
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Triticale
  • Oats** see below

  Some “Gluten-Free Grains” are:

  • Amaranth
  • Buckwheat
  • Corn
  • Millet
  • Montina (Indian Rice Grass)
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Sorghum
  • Teff
  • Wild Rice

  **Oats are inherently gluten-free, but are frequently contaminated with wheat during growing or processing. Three companies (Bob’s Red Mill, Cream Hill Estates and Gluten Free Oats) currently offer pure, uncontaminated oats. Ask your physician if these oats are acceptable for you. Visit Gluten.net for a discussion on oats in the gluten-free diet.

  Information on whole grains as they relate to gluten contents and celiac disease is also available at this site: http://www.wholegrainscouncil.org/whole-grains-101/gluten-free-whole-grains.

Advertisements

Posted in Gluten Watch!!! | Tagged: , , | Leave a Comment »